The first incarnation of the Alumni & Friends Association began in 1930 when Robert LeBaron, a member of the class of 1928, called together his classmates to extend a helping hand to all transfers from SRJC as they enter colleges as well as to maintain contact with one another and their Junior College.
During the late 1940s and early 1950s, after serving in the military, many veterans enrolled at SRJC as they returned to Sonoma County. The SRJC school spirit was evident at the Homecoming football game, which filled the stadium with up to 3,000 people. The faculty served a BBQ before the Homecoming game in front of Analy Hall, and alumni filled the stands to cheer on the Bear Cubs.
Dr. Randolph "Ran" Newman was President of the College when he assigned Garth Dougan, Dean of Students, to develop an Alumni Association for those who attended to the College.
Garth reached out to a group of former SRJC students from the class of 1955 to help create an Alumni Association. Alan Milner, Laurie (Kruzensk) Beard, Marv Mays (Head Football Coach) and Gaye (Notley) LeBaron, joined with Gene Canevari (Student Activities) and Larry Bertolini (Athletic Department's Announcer), forming the Alumni & Friends Association.
Projects the Alumni & Friends Association have accomplished include the establishment of Day Under the Oaks, an open house at SRJC to showcase the College. The Alumni & Friends Association also initiated an alumni benefit program with photo ID cards, free admission to college events and activities, and other discounts to encourage alumni and community involvement at SRJC.
The Alumni & Friends Association continues to honor employees through the Outstanding Faculty Recognition Award, the Bailey Award which honors individuals for their contributions to SRJC and the community, and numerous student scholarships awards honoring former SRJC Presidents Newman and Mikalson.